Occasionally CTMLS will get requests from agents and or sellers asking to delete all prior listing data/history on their listing/home from the MLS. Unfortunately, while the listing may be expired, cancelled or withdrawn, deletion of listing data is not permitted in the MLS.
The purpose of not allowing listing data to be deleted is to ensure REALTORS® and their clients receive a true picture of the property in question. Article 4, Section 4.20 of the CTMLS Rules & Regulations states, “All Listing data and information Filed with the Service from time to time with respect to a Listed Property shall be retained in the System and shall be accessible to Participants and Subscribers.” Further, Section 4.2.1 Deletion of Listing Data and Information states, “Listing data and information for an entire listing may not be removed from the system unless the listing was entered in error. Only MLS staff may remove listings from the system.”
Do you have a compliance question? Please share it in the comments below and we’ll answer it asap.